Thank you to all members for their involvement in the Australian Military Medicine Association for the year 2006. The following are awards that were announced at the Defence Health Symposium, held at the Brisbane Conference and Convention Centre from 19-21 October 2006.

Weary Dunlop Award

Joint Winner, Angus McDonnell – The Characterisation and Referral of Severe Trauma in North Queensland. Implications for Military Medical Units Operating in Isolated Areas

Joint Winner, Peter Nasveld – Japanese Encephalitis Vaccination – Limitations of the Current Vaccine (JE-VAX®) and the Australian Defence Force involvement in the search for an improved vaccine. An overview of the Acambis ChimeriVAXTM –JE Program

Patrons Prize

Scott Kitchener – Melfloquine and Doxycycline malaria prophylaxis in Australian soldiers in East Timor